Best viewed in 800x600 resolution with java script enabled


      There are 14 Principal District Courts. All of them, except the District Courts at Thodupuzha, Manjeri and Thalasserry are situated at the Head Quarters of the Revenue District.

 The Principal District Judges are:

1. Smt. V. Shircy Thiruvananthapuram

 Shri. George Mathew

3. Shri. P. Somarajan Pathanamthitta
4. Smt. Annie John Alappuzha
5. Shri. P.K. Lakshmanan Kottayam

Shri. K George Ommen


Shri. S. Jagadees

8. Shri.P . Nandakrishnan Thrissur
9. Shri. T.V. Anil Kumar Palakkad

Shri.N.J. Jose

11. Shri.V. Bhaskaran Kozhikode

Shri. R. Narayana Pisharadi


Smt. M.R. Anitha

14. Shri. T. S.P. Moosath Kasaragod



         There are 29 Addl. District Courts. Of them, the Addl. District Courts at Mavelikkara and North Paravur are having filing power independent of the Principal District Court. There are 51 Sub Courts (18 Addl.) and 82 Munsiff Courts in the State. There are 16 Munsiff-Magistrate Courts.

        There are Sixteen Family courts functioning at Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Ernakulam, Ettumanoor (Kottayam), Thrissur, Manjeri, Kozhikode, Thiruvalla, Kannur, Nedumangad, Kottarakkara, Alappuzha, Kasaragod, Palakkad, Thodupuzha and Kalpetta having jurisdiction over the respective District. There are 38 Fast Track Courts functioning in the State.


         There are two Special Courts exclusively for the trial of NDPS cases at Thodupuzha and Vadakara. There are two Special Courts for the trial of SPE/CBI cases and one Special Court for the trial of Essential Commodities Act Cases at Thrissur and one Special Court for the trial of cases relating to Idamalayar Investigations. Two Special Courts for the trial of Abkari Act Cases are functioning at Neyyattinkara and Kottarakkara.


         There are 22 Motor Accidents Claims Tribunals. Certain Addl. District Courts and certain special courts in the State also function as Addl. Motor Accidents Claims Tribunals. There are 3 Wakf Tribunals in the State.


         As in the case of Subordinate Civil Judiciary, there are 14 Chief Judicial Magistrates, 4 Addl. Chief Judicial Magistrates and 127 Courts of the Judicial Magistrates of First Class.

         In the Union Territory of Lakshadweep, the only District Court is at Kavarathi; the headquarters of the Island. In addition there are two Munsiff-Magistrate Courts, one at Androth and the other at Amini. The Munsiff, Androth functions as Chief Judicial Magistrate also.


Home Top